New Post at 10,000 Birds


Head over to 10,000 Birds to stay out a little later than usual.

9 responses

  1. colorsigns

    Licht und Schatten,
    schwarz und weiß
    und die Leichtigkeit im Fliegen.

    ein wunderschönes Zauberbild
    ich danke dir !

    August 31, 2012 at 7:23 am

  2. Siobhan Ruck

    Long one of my favorites of all your images.

    August 31, 2012 at 9:11 am

  3. MacyandBreeze

    Breath taking.

    August 31, 2012 at 9:15 am

  4. Great use of light

    August 31, 2012 at 9:38 pm

  5. Walter, in your experience, how do birds react when using flash at night? I admit ignorance here, because I don’t use flash even in the day. I’m curious about your impressions and observations.

    September 2, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    • I was shy about it initially but my experience has shown that, at least in the cases I’ve experienced, the birds weren’t freaked out by it. They seem to respond in a natural way to my proximity, which is much more likely to disturb them, than the use of flash. I still try to keep it to a minimum though. It has to be a little jarring even if it doesn’t cause them harm. I’m sure there are people firmly planted on both sides of this fence. I tend also to wait until they are in flight so that makes it really hard to tell how they felt about it. But from what I know, perched birds seem to take notice, then continue on as if nothing happened.

      September 2, 2012 at 10:21 pm

      • Thanks, Walter, for your thoughtful reply. And, I agree with others who love the image in this post. The translucence is just lovely.

        September 3, 2012 at 1:46 pm

  6. That’s one of the most beautiful images of birds I’ve ever seen!

    September 3, 2012 at 9:13 am

  7. How you manage to take this photo? It’s really awesome..

    October 10, 2012 at 8:29 pm

Leave a Reply

