Mystery Frog


I could look it up in a guide but I’m more interested in what you have to say.

13 responses

  1. Has to be a tree frog! I used to catch them all the time when I was little. Lately however they don’t seem to be as common as they used to be. 😦

    June 21, 2012 at 1:03 am

  2. well, looks like a frog to me 😉
    propably Rana esculenta but kill me: I know almost nothing about frogs, they are rather difficult to identify

    June 21, 2012 at 2:41 am

  3. Looks like a variation of Hyla regilla but I don’t know where you live! It’s a beautiful colour.

    June 21, 2012 at 3:16 am

  4. harleybird

    Not sure but don’t touch or lick it! 🙂

    June 21, 2012 at 6:38 am

  5. Kim Williams

    Looks almost exactly the same as the frogs we have here in Panoche, only the back seems more green.

    June 21, 2012 at 7:16 am

  6. John Wall

    It’s a Pacific treefrog, aka chorus frog. I’ve seen them on Mt. Tam and in Death Valley. They really get around.

    June 21, 2012 at 7:19 am

  7. “They” have changed the name from Pacific Chorus Frog to Sierran Chorus Frog. Whoever decides these things has divided what I always called Pacific Tree Frogs into three subspecies: Pacific Chorus Frog (north of here), Sierran Chorus Frog, and I think Sonoran Chorus Frog (south). The places to learn the best stuff is californiaherps.com and inaturalist.org! A frog by any other name would be as cute!

    June 21, 2012 at 7:36 am

  8. It’s the praying frog!

    June 21, 2012 at 7:39 am

  9. Chorus Frog. I have seen ones that are pure coppery-gold.

    June 21, 2012 at 8:54 am

  10. Kirsten Harris (K.C.)

    Baja California, Northern Pacific, Sierran “Treefrog”…narrow it down to location ; ) I think you should call him “lovely” Like you picture

    June 21, 2012 at 2:02 pm

  11. Well – are you going to tell us the answer?

    June 22, 2012 at 4:35 am

  12. Looks like a common tree frog. It sure is cute. I love frogs 🙂

    June 22, 2012 at 9:59 am

  13. bikesbirdsbeaches

    Sana, sana, colita de rana,
    si no sanas hoy, sanarás mañana…
    (it’s a Mexican rhyme about a frog to encourage kids to get well)

    June 22, 2012 at 8:46 pm

Leave a Reply

