BLW in Iceland


Looking back on the year after I turned 30 from the year before I turn 40. I was, and am, still in love with Iceland. Here are more images from the series.


This was the view from the backyard of Klaustrid. Such an epic, windswept vista. The valley to the right leads to the Vatnajokull Glacier. I walked for hours through these fields.


Those hours often found me striding through the hills when night fell. I’d eventually lose my nerve beat a hasty retreat to the warmth and security of the house. In those hours I might only ever see one person… sometimes no one. It felt vast.


One of the few companions met along the trail, along with the wandering sheep and beautiful and well composed horses.

8 responses

  1. very nices pictures!

    May 2, 2012 at 5:06 am

  2. Absolutely beautiful! And somehow gave me such a nice feeling of calm…

    May 2, 2012 at 5:18 am

  3. The windswept vista of the second picture is hauntingly beautiful… The shades of blue in the third picture are amazing… I can see why you love Iceland.

    May 2, 2012 at 6:18 am

  4. Those two vistas are fantastic. I’d love to visit there too.

    May 2, 2012 at 7:08 am

  5. The blue photo is eery and entrancing. Your description made me want to be there myself, walking in that surreal light, in the jarring aloneness. Beautiful.

    May 2, 2012 at 7:10 am

  6. I can totally understand your love affair. It’s your writing about your feelings being there that turn that first picture of the windswept, desolate-looking land into a grand vista allowing you to feel alive and part of the earth, too.

    May 2, 2012 at 7:53 am

  7. nice set, 7 is great

    May 3, 2012 at 2:57 am

  8. bikesbirdsbeaches

    Beautiful images! I hope you have read one of my favorite books, Independent People, by Haldor Laxness, Icelandic winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature.

    May 3, 2012 at 1:27 pm

Leave a Reply

