This is NOT a Trash Bird


They behave the way they behave because we behave the way we behave. Give me warm water and food close to home and my inclination to migrate fades too. Canada Geese are beautiful.


Redgannet dropped by unexpectedly and proved to me that people met on the internet are funny, knowledgable, generous, and a pleasure to be around. Hmmmmm, I wonder who else is out there on the internets. At any rate, It was a pleasure meeting the international phenom and fellow 10,000 Birds Beat Writer. He was on the scene and witnessed the splendor that is a Canada Goose bathing in morning sunlight.


Looks like fun. I know, I know… anthropomorphosization. But seriously, it looks like fun.


Stay strong CAGO… stay strong.

3 responses

  1. RKB

    There are no Trash Birds. They’re all beautiful in themselves and part of the beauty of living things. Thanks for these wonderful pictures.

    March 9, 2012 at 1:23 am

  2. I’ve loved Canada Geese since I was a child on a farm in eastern Pennsylvania, and my father would always hear them first — flying high overhead going south or north as the season dictated. He loved them, loved their high wild beauty, and loved them as harbingers of a change in the weather and the year’s hard work. At that time, they only appeared on the ground as they migrated to refuel in the fields. Now, here on Whidbey Island, I feel privileged to have them living year-round in this (very different) rural community in close proximity, often seen and heard, always part of my deepest pleasure in being alive in this place at this time.

    March 9, 2012 at 7:29 am

  3. adrianduque89

    I really like the first and last photos!

    March 9, 2012 at 10:44 am

Leave a Reply

