Grey Crowned Crane


Grey Crowned Cranes are one of those improbably coiffed, unbelievably plumaged apparitions you see in the grass and discount as the murmurings of your imagination. Look again… they are real.


This one is preening in the reeds. I’d never seen one alone before and a few moments later I discovered its mate.


Settled into the grass disguised as some sort of flower. It is hard to tell if that is a nest or just a bird taking a break. I know almost nothing about them so I’m happy to live with the mystery, even so I’m leaning towards it being a bird on eggs. Tough location though given the Leopards in the vicinity.


Time to find a nearby field to forage in.


This is obscured but I like that it shows the headdress stowed away in an aerodynamic position.


Sorry for my absence lately. That’s life I guess. BLW is back and I’ll try to get into consistent form again. Thanks for all of your comments and for the wonderful feedback. It’s great to know these images have a meaningful life out in the world and that they are appreciated.

7 responses

  1. bill

    Getting BLW is always a daily highlight. Thanks for all the great postings.

    March 9, 2012 at 7:45 am

  2. ml

    WOW! What an incredibly aesthetic bird! Great pictures.

    March 9, 2012 at 8:26 am

  3. Kendra

    Those wings! They stretch from here to Labor Day!

    Your images (and words) are very appreciated–thanks for sharing them!

    March 9, 2012 at 9:08 am

  4. The middle photo with the wings up shows such grace and beauty!

    March 9, 2012 at 10:05 am

  5. adrianduque89

    Fantastic shots!

    March 9, 2012 at 10:38 am

  6. Lindsay

    Hey Walter, these photos made my day. Thanks!

    March 9, 2012 at 3:39 pm

  7. Sandy Slichter

    I can hardly believe these photos Walter, absolutely stunning. The best I’ve ever seen of a Crowned Crane, can’t decide which is my favorite. Many thanks.

    March 14, 2012 at 12:57 pm

Leave a Reply

