Little Bee-eater


The Little Bee-eater is a bright, energetic, bundle of energy and is common throughout Tanzania.


This one has its sights set on a bee that wandered a bit too close for its own safety.


The bee never had a chance.


This guy was perched near the hippo pool at Lake Manyara National Park. Swarms of insects kept him busy.


I love that spectacular birds can be commonplace birds. I often take a second look at the my local birds and find them equally spectacular although my amazement is easily dulled by familiarity. Nevermore!

3 responses

  1. Sandy Slichter

    Common indeed! How fortunate to see these gorgeous creatures, and how lucky we are that you do, Walter….thanks for these.

    January 5, 2012 at 10:48 am

  2. I love the contrast between the crisp spikes of the thorns and the soft, jewelled feathers of the bird. Great capture of the acrobatics.

    January 5, 2012 at 8:33 pm

  3. BTW Walter, how many shots did you take of these birds altogether? Partly because I just updated my camera, I’m interested to hear how a serious photographer operates.

    January 5, 2012 at 8:40 pm

Leave a Reply

