A Four Prairie Day – Give Thanks


I wish Prairie Falcons weren’t so skittish, but maybe the rarity of close encounters is what makes them so special. So to see 4 of them on my recent trip out to Panoche Valley was unexpected.


Such amazing birds. Ability to write decent caption… compromised…


A storm of blackbirds results from a Prairie swooping in and landing on the power pole below.


Check out those dark axillaries… a nice field mark for a Prairie Falcon that you can easily see from a distance.


Definitive proof that falcons can keep a close eye on you even when they are flying away.

4 responses

  1. christina

    Walter,
    As I stuff my turkey today I am thankful for your keen eye on all our flying friends! Happy Thanksgiving to you too!

    November 24, 2011 at 10:46 am

  2. Sandy Slichter

    These are terrific Walter, what a nice Thanksgiving gift, thanks!!

    November 24, 2011 at 1:44 pm

  3. we have those here too and aren’t they beautiful. Though the moment I reach for the camera they are OFF, you know how to catch them!

    November 24, 2011 at 2:43 pm

  4. The World Is My Cuttlefish

    Beautiful birds. They remind me of snow leopards. I enjoyed the last photo with the wings sliced forward. I think I have not seen a photo of a bird from such an angle and in this position.

    November 25, 2011 at 7:09 pm

Leave a Reply

