Lovely Prairie


As a volunteer with the Golden Gate Raptor Observatory I’ve sat through many cold and foggy hours waiting to band hawks. When the sun shines anything can happen and this weekend was no exception. The highlight was my first encounter with a large falcon, a beautiful and scarily fierce juvenile female Prairie Falcon. Yeah, I know she looks cute but you have to be comfortable putting your hand into a pulsing blender to feel comfortable handling Prairies.


This one was extra large and extra fierce and completely awe inspiring.

She was in great health and left us wearing a new band with a unique number that I hope isn’t recovered for a few decades.

5 responses

  1. All your photographs are amazing… this one was truly jaw-dropping. She’s huge and gorgeous!

    September 25, 2011 at 1:34 am

  2. The last (release) photo is stunning! Love your blog & I look forward to each new entry.

    September 25, 2011 at 11:00 am

  3. gorgeous and i think i am going to go for the pulsing blender, you are much braver than me! c

    September 25, 2011 at 3:23 pm

  4. adrianduque89

    The last photo is my favorite!

    September 25, 2011 at 4:30 pm

  5. sometime/someday can you describe how raptors are cpatured for banding?
    thank you for awesome inbox treats.

    September 25, 2011 at 8:20 pm

Leave a comment