Tinkertown Hummingbirds


Tinkertown is a place on the outskirts of Albuquerque that demands a visit from anyone interested in tinkering, the circus, craft, imagination, hand-painted signs, humor, and hummingbirds. I was stuck at the front door for twenty minutes because of the latter. Above, a Broad-tailed Hummingbird surveys the scene. (Fellow bird nerds, please correct my IDs in the comments if I’m off about any of these beauties.)


A closer look in profile.


A male Broad-tail dipping in for more while trying to avoid the hyper-aggressive Rufous Hummingbird chasing off all comers.


Eighty beats a second means those wings have to be light… so light they become transparent.


This bird seems to have had an encounter with feather mites… or, less likely, a dust-up with the Rufous on a particularly bad day.


The resident aggressor. A stunningly beautiful bird stakes his claim to the feeder.

5 responses

  1. Great photos! I love hummingbirds. Thanks for sharing!

    August 8, 2011 at 1:04 pm

  2. These photos are gorgeous. The colors and clear definition on the wings and heads is unlike anything I’ve ever seen! I actually saw a hummingbird sitting in the middle of the sidewalk the other day while on a walk. I assumed it was hurt at first, but when I moved closer, it simply flew away. I took it as a good omen.

    August 8, 2011 at 4:05 pm

  3. Stunning photos! I’m such a fan of your work! Thanks for uploading these! 😀

    August 8, 2011 at 9:21 pm

  4. Quite extraordinary. c

    August 9, 2011 at 7:10 am

  5. Deanna Nielson

    It’s amazing to me that these tiny birds are so fiercely territorial. I applaud the Broad-tail beauties for their persistence. I hadn’t heard of Tinkertown. I’ll have to look for it the next time I’m in the area. Thank you for the recommendation.

    August 10, 2011 at 10:49 am

Leave a Reply

