Baby Robin Rescue

These baby Robins had a rough night. Their nest had fallen and unceremoniously dumped them 10 feet onto the ground. They were cold and the parents couldn’t seem to find them. The parents have a history of building poor nests in poor locations. For all they know, the nests magically transform into baskets at some point – this is the second time I’ve intervened. The last time it was because I found a feral cat standing on the nest.

Here are the two of them as I found them this morning, cold and barely moving.

Here is the fallen nest. The rain had made the muddy grass nest heavy, and it was built into the leafy branches of a tree that fall off when they get old.

I cut the old basket out of the tree that held last year’s nest prepared it with some wire.

I placed the nest in the basket…

and wired the nest into the tree right where the fallen one had been.

After warming them in my hands for about 5 minutes, a parent returned and seemed to be searching for them. I placed them in the basket and about three minutes later, the parent arrived at the nest with food but they were so cold and weak they couldn’t eat. The parent ate the food it had brought and left the nest carrying some old nest material. I left for work and when I returned the parents were busy feeding the chicks in shifts, and I could hear the little ones chirping. I was so very happy to see that they had made it through the day. I’ll keep you posted on their progress. Here is a little video from the time I was trying to warm them up.

10 responses

  1. lineatus

    You really see the dinosaur in these guys, don’t you…

    May 21, 2011 at 3:51 am

  2. Dear Walter,
    I know you have a warm heart and this proves it again!
    Thanks for taking the time to save our feathered friends and take the most wonderful pictures to share with us.
    Deb

    May 28, 2011 at 8:31 pm

  3. How wonderful!

    August 4, 2011 at 8:53 am

  4. Thanks for helping these little guys! And for doing it in such a way that the parent was reunited with the babies. That’s always the best possible outcome. I volunteer at a Bay Area wildlife hospital, and you can also heat cold baby birds by using a heating pad (or makeshift heating pad) under a towel and/or under a temporary nest. (A clean margarine tub with wrapped toilet paper cushioning can be used temporarily to house the baby on top of a heat source.) Always low heat, and always something like a towel between the heat source and the baby.

    Congratulations on the 10,000 Birds assignment! That’s how I found your blog. 🙂

    October 31, 2011 at 11:42 am

    • Thanks for visiting. I just subscribed to your blog. Nice to have another perspective on the Bay Area.

      October 31, 2011 at 8:57 pm

  5. AMAZING SHOTS BEGINNING OF NEW LIFE 🙂

    May 7, 2012 at 6:10 am

  6. I’m glad you were there to assist. I pray they survive – it’s a tough world.

    May 28, 2012 at 7:04 pm

  7. Paula Bernardi

    Fico imensamente feliz por saber que os animais podem contar com pessoas maravilhosas como você … é nessas horas que eu sinto que não estou sozinha na luta pelos direitos desses carinhas =D

    June 12, 2012 at 6:21 am

  8. Awww. Lovely. We were brought some baby greenfinches when I was a child (aged 12, my brother was 10) – my friend found them after a windy night, 3 were dead on the road, surrounded by bits of nest. My brother and I raised the other two, feeding them every 20 minutes throughout the day with half milk half egg yolk with ground up corn in dipped in wholemeal bread. They both fledged – we taught one to eat seeds etc and he flew away, but the female stayed with us, totally tame, sat on our shoulders when we were out – she used to fly up to trees but always came back. She died aged 13.

    June 21, 2012 at 5:11 am

  9. WILD NOTTINGHAM

    A good story, with a happy ending!

    May 21, 2013 at 5:26 am

Leave a Reply

